Revenue). The President and Vice President are full-time executives appointed for a period of seven years; the other nine Directors, including a Chairman and Vice Chairman are appointed for periods of three years and may serve two consecutive terms.

As the chief executive of the Corporation, the President, with the Vice President, is responsible to the Board of Directors for the conduct of its affairs. They administer the Corporation with four Staff Departments and three Operating Divisions. The Departments, headed by Vice Presidents are: Programs; Administration and Finance; Corporative Affairs and Engineering and Operations. The Divisions, headed by General Managers, are: Regional, French and English Network Broadcasting.

The Corporation's Head Office is situated in Ottawa with Headquarters for English Networks in Toronto, for French Networks in Montreal and with Regional Headquarters in St. John's for Newfoundland, Halifax for the Maritime Provinces, Winnipeg for the Prairie Provinces, and Vancouver for British Columbia. Headquarters for the Northern and Armed Forces Services are in Ottawa and for the International Service in Montreal.

Canadian Commercial Corporation.—This Corporation was established on May 1, 1946 by the Canadian Commercial Corporation Act (RSC 1952, c. 35). It purchases goods and commodities in Canada for the governments of other countries. It also acts as purchasing agent for international agencies such as the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund and the United Nations Korean Reconstruction Agency. Other functions include arranging production and shipment of Canadian contributions of military stores to NATO countries. The Corporation also serves other departments of the Government of Canada. For instance, it arranges for the purchase and production of supplies and services which the External Aid Office is making available to other countries under the Colombo Plan. In carrying out its functions the Corporation works closely with the Department of Defence Production. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Maritime Commission.—The Commission was created in 1947 (RSC 1952, c. 38) to consider and recommend policies and measures necessary for the operation, maintenance, manning and development of a merchant marine and a ship-building and ship-repairing industry. The Commission is established as a separate Department of the Government of Canada but reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian National Railways.—The Canadian National Railway Company was incorporated (SC 1919, c. 13) to operate and manage a national system of railways, including the Canadian Northern Railway System, the Canadian Government Railways and all lines entrusted to it by Order in Council. In 1923 the Grand Trunk Railway Company of Canada was amalgamated with the Canadian National Railway Company and since 1923 a number of railway lines acquired by the Government have been entrusted to the Company for operation and management, including the Newfoundland Railway and steamship services in 1949 and the Temiscouata Railway in 1950. The Canadian National Railways Act, 1919 was repealed in 1955 and the Canadian National Railways Act (SC 1955, c. 29) substituted therefor.

The Canadian National Railway Company is controlled by a Chairman and Board of Directors appointed by the Governor in Council, who report to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation.—This Crown company was created on Dec. 10, 1949 by Act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c. 42) to acquire for public operation external telecommunication assets in Canada, in keeping with the Commonwealth Telegraph Agreement signed May 11, 1948. This Agreement was designed to bring about the consolidation and strengthening of the radio and cable communication systems of the Commonwealth. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Patents and Development Limited.—Canadian Patents and Development Limited is a Crown corporation established in 1948, pursuant to authority granted in an amendment to the Research Council Act which was passed in 1946. The primary purpose of the company is to make available to industry, through licensing arrangements, new processes developed by scientific workers of the National Research Council. Its services are equally available to other government departments, publicly supported institutions and universities. The company also has cross-agency arrangements with similar government agencies in other Commonwealth countries. The Board of Directors is composed of representatives from the National Research Council, from government departments and from industry and the universities. Any profits that the company may derive from licensing arrangements are available for further research and development. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Veterans Affairs).

Canadian Wheat Board.—The Board was incorporated in 1935 under the Canadian Wheat Board Act to market, in an orderly manner, in the interprovincial and export trade, grain grown in Canada. Its powers include authority to buy, take delivery of, store, transfer, sell, ship or otherwise dispose of grain. Except as directed by the Governor in Council, the Board was not originally authorized to buy grain other than wheat but, since Aug. 1, 1949, it may also buy oats and barley if authorized to do so by Regulation approved by the Governor in Council. Only grain produced